Board of Directors

As of May 17, 2017

The Board of Director consists of 1 Chairman, 1 Executive Director, 21 Directors, and 1 Auditor (In alphabetical order)


1.OMI, Koji Founder and Chairman, Science and Technology in Society forum (STS forum), JP PDF

Executive Director

1.TANAKA, Satoshi Executive Director, Science and Technology in Society forum (STS forum), JP


1.FRIEDMAN, Jerome I. Institute Professor and Professor of Physics Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); Nobel Laureate, US
2.GRUSS, Peter President and CEO, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST), DE
3.HOLLIDAY, Jr., Charles O. Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc.; Chair, Council of the National Academy of Engineering; Chairman Emeritus, Council on Competitiveness; former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, DuPont, US
4.ISHIGE, Hiroyuki Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), JP
5.KLEINER, Matthias President, Leibniz Association, DE
6.KOMIYAMA, Hiroshi Chairman of the Institute, Mitsubishi Research Institute, Inc.; President Emeritus, The University of Tokyo, JP
7.KUMAR, Ashwani Member of Parliament of India, Rajya Sabha (India); former Minister of Science and Technology, IN
8.LEE, Yuan Tseh former President, International Council for Science (ICSU); President Emeritus; Distinguished Research Fellow, Institute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica; Nobel Laureate, CHINESE TAIPEI
9.LIM, Chuan Poh Chairman, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), SG
10.McKINNELL, Henry A. Chairman, Moody’s Corporation; Chairman, Emmaus Life Sciences, US
11.McNUTT, Marcia Editor-in-Chief, Science family of journals, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), US
12.MUROMACHI, Masashi Executive Advisor, Toshiba Corporation, JP
13.NAKANISHI, Hiroaki Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Hitachi Ltd., JP
14.NURSE, Paul Director and Chief Executive, The Francis Crick Institute; former President, The Royal Society; Nobel Laureate, UK
15.RAMAKRISHNAN, Venkatraman President, the Royal Society; Nobel Laureate, UK
16.SAKAKIBARA, Sadayuki Chairman, Keidanren (Japan Business Federation); Chief Senior Advisor, Chief Senior Counselor, Toray Industries, Inc., JP
17.SERAGELDIN, Ismail Director, Library of Alexandria; Advisor to the Prime Minister for Cultural, Scientific and Museum Affairs, EG
18.UCHIYAMADA, Takeshi Chairman of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation, JP
19.WALLBERG, Harriet Director General, Ministry of Health; Professor of Physiology, former-President, Karolinska Institutet, SE
20.YAMANAKA, Shinya Director and Professor, Center for iPS Cell Research and Application, Kyoto University; Nobel Laureate, JP
21.YOSHIKAWA, Hiroyuki Special Counselor to the President, Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), JP


1.OKIMURA, Kazuki Chairman, Japan Foundation of Public Communication on Science and Technology (PCOST), JP