About us


AA-STS Pamphlet 2021

At the American Associates of the STS forum (AA-STS), our mission is to support the Science and Technology in Society forum (STS forum), a worldwide movement of top leaders from different constituencies to discuss “Lights and Shadows of Science and Technology” from the long-term viewpoint of humankind, by securing the best contents and fund-raising opportunities from the U.S.

Board of Directors

      • Henry A. McKinnell, Chairman  Chairman, Moody's Corporation; Chairman and CEO Emeritus, Pfizer Inc
      • Ray O. Johnson, Vice Chairman/Treasurer Operating Partner, Bessemer Venture Partners; former SVP and CTO, Lockheed Martin Corporation
      • Rita Colwell  Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland; former US Science Envoy; former Director, NSF
      • Nicholas B. Dirks President and CEO, The New York Academy of Sciences
      • Jerome Friedman  Institute Professor and Professor of Physics Emeritus, MIT; Nobel Laureate, Physics 1990
      • Doon Gibbs  Director, Brookhaven National Laboratory
      • William H. Goldstein  Director, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
      • Charles Holliday, Jr  Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc; former Chairman, Bank of America
      • Rush D. Holt  CEO Emeritus, AAAS
      • Keoki Jackson  Vice President, Supply Chain and Program Operations, Lockheed Martin Corporation
      • Pradeep K. Khosla  Chancellor, University of California, San Diego
      • Steven Koonin  University Professor, NYU; former Under Secretary for Science, DOE
      • Thomas Mason  Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory
      • Eric Mazur Balkanski Professor of Physics and Applied Physics and Area Chair of Applied Physics, Harvard University
      • Marcia McNutt  President, National Academy of Sciences
      • Bernard Meyerson Chief Innovation Officer Emeritus, IBM Corporation
      • Hugh Thompson  Managing Partner, Crosspoint Capital Partners
      • Keith Williams  Former President and CEO, UL
      • Deborah Wince-Smith  President and CEO, United States Council on Competitiveness
      • Thomas Zacharia  Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
      • Elias Zerhouni  Professor Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University; Former Director, NIH

      Honorary Director

      • Vartan Gregorian President, Carnegie Corporation of New York


    American Associates of the STS forum

    c/oNYAS, 7 World Trade Center, New York, New York 10007 Tel: 646-812-0982 / Fax: 646-607-5467

    Website: http://www.aa-stsforum.org

    Sachiko Oba-Coté, Secretary

    secretariat@aa-stsforum.org / sachiko.cote@aa-stsforum.org

    Legal Adviser: Covington & Burling LLP

Getting to STS forum (NPO) Secretariat

By Tokyo Metro (Subway)

From Akasaka-Mitsuke Station on Marunouchi Line /Ginza Line
Take Exit 11 (1 minute on foot)
Take Exit 10 (3 minutes on foot)

From Nagatacho Station on Hanzomon Line/Yurakucho Line/Namboku Line
Take Exit 8 (5 minutes on foot)